You just gotta know Him more, come taste and see that the Lord is good!

From Chapter 2, Book 3 of The Imitation of Christ, by Thomas A Kempis
A Reflection

Do not let Moses or any of the prophets speak to me; but You speak, O Lord God,
Who inspired and enlightened all the prophets;
for You alone, without them, can instruct me perfectly,
whereas they, without You, can do nothing.
They, indeed, utter fine words, but they cannot impart the spirit.
They do indeed speak beautifully,
but if You remain silent they cannot inflame the heart.
They deliver the message; You lay bare the sense.
They place before us mysteries, but You unlock their meaning.
They proclaim commandments; You help us to keep them.
They point out the way; You give strength for the journey.
They work only outwardly; You instruct and enlighten our hearts.
They water on the outside; You give the increase.

I crave for the words that would tickle my ears and I get them from people
however, they do not show the real condition of my heart.
People see the show I have come to make, and they have come to admire
but nobody knows the real situation I’m in.

Speak to me Lord, for you are the wellspring of life.
You show me my real condition
but you don’t fold your arms;
you don’t leave me without any hope.
Your arms are ready to hug me tight,
ready to listen as I share my inmost being.
Speak to me Lord, for your words bring comfort, and joy.
For your words desire that I change
For your words are the sweetest words
that are true, and will never pass away.

Speak, therefore, Lord, for Your servant listens.
“Thou hast the words of eternal life.”
Speak to me for the comfort of my soul and for the amendment of my life,
for Your praise, Your glory, and Your everlasting honor.

Leave a comment